International Ice Hockey Federation

The Tre Kronor Mix

The Tre Kronor Mix

Five World Champs, millennial Dahlin to Korea

Published 15.08.2018 16:15 GMT+11 | Author Martin Merk
The Tre Kronor Mix
A roster full of experience, and millennial Rasmus Dahlin, who may become the youngest player of the 2018 Olympic men’s ice hockey tournament. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
Swedish national coach Rikard Gronborg has presented his roster for the Olympic men’s ice hockey tournament on Tuesday.

The Swedes announced three goaltenders, eight defencemen and 12 forwards who will compete for the Swedish men’s ice hockey team at the 2018 Olympics in Korea. Two more roster spots are open and will be filled with two additional forwards.

The current roster includes five players who have won gold at the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship last spring including goaltender Viktor Fasth and forwards Dennis Everberg, Carl Klingberg, Joel Lundqvist and Linus Omark.

Ten players join from teams in the KHL, nine play in the domestic SHL and four in Switzerland.

Joel Lundqvist, who captained Sweden to gold last May, is the most experienced player with 141 international games for the Swedish men’s national team. Defenceman Staffan Kronwall (104) and forward Linus Omark (101) also have more than 100 national team games where Omark scored the most (19) goals.

34-year-old Lundqvist is also the oldest player on a roster full of experience with an average age of 29. Only one player is younger than 23: millennial Rasmus Dahlin. The 17-year-old defenceman is a candidate for becoming the next number-one-draft pick in the NHL and recently played at the 2018 IIHF World Junior Championship where he won a silver medal and the Best Defenceman award.

Sweden will have a pre-tournament game in Incheon near Seoul against Canada on 12 February before the tournament starts in Gangneung where all ice sports competitions will be held.

Tre Kronor won silver at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games. This year they will face countries from their neighbourhood in the preliminary round with archrival Finland, Norway and Germany. The Germans today announced a 30-man preliminary roster with the final selection to follow on 23rd January.

Sweden has previously announced the roster of its women’s national team for the 2018 Olympics.

Jhonas Enroth, Dynamo Minsk (BLR/KHL)
Viktor Fasth, Vaxjo Lakers
Magnus Hellberg, Kunlun Red Star (CHN/KHL)

Jonas Ahnelov, Avangard Omsk (RUS)
Simon Bertilsson, Brynas Gavle
Rasmus Dahlin, Frolunda Gothenburg
Johan Fransson, Geneve-Servette (SUI)
Erik Gustafsson, Neftekhimik Nizhnekamsk (RUS)
Patrik Hersley, SKA St Petersburg (RUS)
Staffan Kronwall, Lokomotiv Yaroslavl (RUS)
Mikael Wikstrand, Farjestad Karlstad

Dick Axelsson, Farjestad Karlstad
Alexander Bergstrom, Sibir Novisibirsk (RUS)
Dennis Everberg, Avangard Omsk (RUS)
Carl Klingberg, EV Zug (SUI)
Anton Lander, Ak Bars Kazan (RUS)
Par Lindholm, Skelleftea AIK
Joakim Lindstrom, Skelleftea AIK
Joel Lundqvist, Frolunda Gothenburg
Oscar Moller, Skelleftea AIK
Linus Omark, Salavat Yulayev Ufa (RUS)
Fredrik Pettersson, ZSC Lions (SUI)
Viktor Stalberg, EV Zug (SUI)

Head Coach:
Rikard Gronborg


Back to Overview