International Ice Hockey Federation

First Olympic participants

First Olympic participants

IIHF names refs, linesmen for PyeongChang 2018

Published 15.08.2018 16:17 GMT+11 | Author Martin Merk
First Olympic participants
Four of the most experienced referees in PyeongChang 2018. Konstantin Olenin (top-left), Aina Hove (top-right), Nicole Hertrich (bottom-left) and Antonin Jerabek (bottom-right) all officiated in Sochi 2014. Photos: HHOF-IIHF Images
The IIHF Council has confirmed the referees and linesmen who will officiate at the men’s and women’s ice hockey tournaments of the 2018 Olympic Winter Games.

In total 47 on-ice officials from 13 different countries got the call for the 2018 Olympics.

The 12-team men’s tournament will be handled by 14 referees and 14 linesmen. The eight-team women’s tournament will be officiated by 10 referees and nine linesmen.

In numbers the list is led by the United States with seven on-ice officials followed by Finland and Sweden with six each. Canada, the Czech Republic and Switzerland will send five each to the Olympics.

Several of the on-ice officials have experience from Sochi 2014. Among the referees Antonin Jerabek and Konstantin Olenin have been part of the crew on Sochi 2014 while Nicole Hertrich and Aina Hove even bring in the experience of two Olympics and eight Women’s World Championships as they were also in Vancouver 2010. Also on the ice in Vancouver 2010 was Nikoleta Celarova, however, not as a referee but as a player for the Slovak women’s team.

For most of the referees and linesmen it will be the first Olympic Winter Games after several men’s and women’s World Championships under the belt. In total the officials combine for 135 World Championship participations.

2018 Olympic men's ice hockey tournament
Referees     Linesmen  
Lemelin, Mark  AUT   Vanoosten, Nathan  CAN
Gouin, Oliver  CAN   Lederer, Vit  CZE
Iverson, Brett  CAN   Lhotsky, Miroslav  CZE
Hribik, Jan  CZE   Sormunen, Hannu  FIN
Jerabek, Antonin  CZE   Suominen, Sakari  FIN
Rantala, Aleksi  FIN   Kohlmuller, Lukas  GER
Salonen, Anssi  FIN   Lazarev, Gleb  RUS
Gofman, Roman  RUS   Otmakhov, Alexander  RUS
Olenin, Konstantin  RUS   Fluri, Nicolas  SUI
Stricker, Daniel  SUI   Kaderli, Roman  SUI
Wehrli, Tobias  SUI   Dahmen, Jimmy  SWE
Kubus, Jozef  SVK   Pihlblad, Henrik  SWE
Ohlund, Linus  SWE   McIntyre, Fraser  USA
Mayer, Timothy  USA   Ritter, Judson  USA
2018 Olympic women's ice hockey tournament
Referees     Linesmen  
Ariano-Lortie, Gabrielle  CAN   Todd, Justine  CAN
Hertrich, Nicole  GER   Svobodova, Zuzana  CZE
Hove, Aina  NOR   Heikkinen, Jenni  FIN
Fialova, Drahomira  SUI   Tauriainen, Johanna  FIN
Celarova, Nikoleta  SVK   Girard, Charlotte  FRA
Gran, Gabriella  SWE   Linnek, Lisa  GER
Timglas, Katarina  SWE   Pagon, Natasa  SLO
Allen, Dina  USA   Johansson, Veronica  SWE
Guay, Katie  USA   Leclerc, Jessica  USA
Szkola, Melissa  USA      


Back to Overview